imagingnanax.blogg.se

Glen matlock songs
Glen matlock songs







" Rocky Raccoon" they should have been hung, drawn, and quartered for. I can appreciate some of the stuff - I like their more rockier stuff, but I can't stand their more mawkish stuff. Matlock: That's not true - that's something that Malcolm McLaren said. Songfacts: Do you mind clearing up once and for all the rumor that you were kicked out of the Pistols "for being a Beatles fan." Jim is happy doing it because there was a pair of kettledrums in the studio, so he got a chance to play timpani for the first time. We even do a cover of Scott Walker's "Montague Terrace," which is very interesting. And it's got a couple of big ballads on it. But it's got some rockers on it and it's got some rockabilly-flavored things, which Slim Jim brought to the occasion. If anything, it sounds like loud skiffle. It freed me up to concentrate on having a go at singing and strumming. What's good about him is he plays pretty much what I tell him to, and he's happy to do that - with his own little flash and twist on it. I don't even play bass on the album except on one track that I cut after the initial sessions, which is a newer song.Īnd I roped in my mate, Jim Lowe, who over here is quite a respected engineer/producer, who does all the Stereophonics stuff, as well as many other things - old Charlatans. I just wanted to do a different kind of "filter." I've been doing many solo acoustic shows around the world, which I really like doing, and I wanted something that reflected that a bit more. And my chums who play on most of the tracks are Slim Jim Phantom from the Stray Cats and Earl Slick from David Bowie. I didn't want it to sound like another punk album at the age of nearly 62, so I recruited some chums to play on it. We recorded it about two years ago now, but it's just coming out. It's songs that I've written over the past three or four years. Glen Matlock: About an hour-and-a-half train ride from New York City is a place called Rhinebeck, and that's where we recorded it - at a studio called Clubhouse. Greg Prato (Songfacts): Let's discuss your new album, Good To Go. Shortly before the album's release, Matlock spoke with Songfacts about his latest studio offering, as well as the stories behind several Pistols classics. In August 2018, Matlock issued a solo album, Good To Go, which sees him unite with Earl Slick and Slim Jim Phantom. He also participated in the Pistols' sporadic reunions from 1996-2008. After all, he is credited with co-penning 10 of the album's 12 songs, including "Anarchy," "God Save the Queen" and "Pretty Vacant."Īfter exiting the Pistols in 1977 (the press initially reported the reason being because he had too much admiration for the Beatles' music - but the record will soon be set straight, read on), Matlock has played with a variety of artists, including the Rich Kids (with a then-unknown Midge Ure), the short-lived Vicious White Kids (which also included the chap who replaced Matlock in the Pistols, Sid Vicious), and Iggy Pop. Here's The Sex Pistols (save for one track - and what a track it was - " Anarchy In The UK"), he certainly left his mark on the material. Although bassist Glen Matlock did not appear on Never Mind the Bollocks.









Glen matlock songs